Trade and Economic Cooperation

The legal framework for the Russian-Canadian economic cooperation includes the Agreement on Trade and Commercial Relations (1992),  the Agreement on the Stimulation and Mutual Protection of Capital Investments (signed in 1989 and entered into force in 1991), the Agreement on Economic Cooperation (1993), the Agreement on the Avoidance of Double Taxation  and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasion with Respect to Taxes on Income
 and on Capital (1995), the Air Services Agreement (2000), the Agreement  on Cooperation between Russian Regions and Canadian Provinces and Territories (2000). 

In October 1995 the Intergovernmental Economic Commission  was established with several subcommissions and working groups on  agro-industrial complex, the Arctic, aerospace, infrastructure and other projects  with an aim to coordinate efforts in developing bilateral trade and economic ties.

In 2005, Canada and Russia created bilateral Business Council, which included working groups on mining and metallurgy, energetics, information  and communication technologies, transport.

During the 2007 visit of Chairman of the Government of the Russian Federation Victor Zubkov to Canada the parties issued a Joint Statement  on the Russian-Canadian economic cooperation and signed series of inter-agency arrangements, including the ones on cooperation in the field of agriculture, fishery, indigenous people and development of northern territories, as well as  the declaration of intent to establish technical working groups  in the area of food safety, animals and plants health. 

Russian regions (Moscow, Saint Petersburg, the Republic of Tatarstan, Krasnoyarsk Region) and provinces of Canada (Ontario, Quebec, Manitoba, Alberta) maintain friendly and mutually beneficial ties. A delegation headed  by President of the Republic of Tatarstan Rustam Minnikhanov visited Toronto  and Montreal in September 2016, where signed several agreements on cooperation in aircraft construction, culture and sports. A delegation of the Republic of Sakha (Yakutia) headed by Deputy Head of the regional Government Kirill Bychkov  was on an official visit to Canada in December 2019. The sides, in particular, agreed on continuing efforts in resettling wood bison to Yakutia. 

The Russian-Canadian trade and economic cooperation had been developing progressively until 2014. The largest volume of bilateral trade was registered  in 2008, when it reached 3.2 billion US dollars. Several mutually beneficial large-business projects were carried out in the sphere of aircraft construction  (in particular, between the “Russian Helicopters” company and “Pratt and Whitney” Corporation; the JSC “Irkut” and “Short Brothers” Company; between the JSC “Ural Works Civil Aviation” and “Diamond Aircraft” Company), as well as in oil production (participation of “Rosneft” in the development of oil reserves of the Cardium Shale Formation in Alberta). 

After Canada’s anti-Russian sanctions in 2014 followed by the reciprocal measures of Russia, the state of bilateral trade and economic relations have significantly deteriorated (for example, in 2016 the volume of trade dropped to 1.16 billion US dollars). Nevertheless, despite the restrictions, Russia-Canada trade volume within the period of 2016-2019 increased by 64 % and reached 2 billion US dollars. Russian exports to Canada has also doubled especially in the spheres  of oil and oil products, mechanical rubber goods, mineral fertilizers and palladium. 

Business representatives of both countries, participating in the work of the Russian-Canadian Business Council and the Canada–Eurasia–Russia Business Association (CERBA), continue urging for maintaining and expanding bilateral trade and investments, cancelling restrictions and barriers that hamper business relations, especially when access to new markets is becoming more crucial for both countries.

Посольство Российской Федерации в Канаде
Посольство: +1 (613) 236‑14‑13, e-mail: info@rusembassy.ca
Телефон экстренной связи в случае чрезвычайной ситуации:+1 (613) 882‑4257
/Консульский отдел: +1 (613) 236‑72‑20, e-mail: consul.ottawa@mid.ru
ru en

Торгово-экономическое сотрудничество

Договорно-правую базу российско-канадского экономического сотрудничества составляют Соглашение о торговых и коммерческих отношениях (1992 г.), Соглашение о поощрении и взаимной защите капиталовложений (подписано в 1989 г. и вступило в силу в 1991 г.), Соглашение об экономическом сотрудничестве (1993 г.), Соглашение об избежании двойного налогообложения (1995 г.), Соглашение о воздушном сообщении (2000 г.), Соглашение о сотрудничестве между субъектами России и провинциями и территориями Канады (2000 г.). 

В целях координации усилий по развитию двусторонних торгово-экономических связей в октябре 1995 г. была создана Межправительственная экономическая комиссия (МЭК), состоящая из профильных подкомиссий и рабочих групп (по агропромышленному комплексу, Арктике, космосу, инфраструктурным проектам). 

В октябре 2005 г. в соответствии с договоренностями на высшем уровне был образован Российско-канадский деловой совет (РКДС). В рамках РКДС функционируют рабочие группы по горной добыче и металлургии; энергетике; информационным и телекоммуникационным технологиям; транспорту. 

В ходе визита в Канаду в ноябре 2007 г. Председателя Правительства России В.А.Зубкова принято совместное заявление о российско-канадском экономическом сотрудничестве, подписаны межведомственные документы о сотрудничестве в области сельского хозяйства, рыболовства, развития коренных народов и северных территорий, заявление о намерениях в отношении создания технических рабочих групп в сфере безопасности продуктов питания, здоровья животных и растений. 

Поддерживаются связи между регионами России (Москва, Санкт-Петербург, Республика Татарстан, Московская область, Красноярский край) и провинциями Канады (Онтарио, Квебек, Манитоба, Альберта). В сентябре 2016 г. в Канаде (Торонто, Монреаль) побывала делегация во главе с Президентом Республики Татарстан Р.Н.Миннихановым. В ходе визита достигнуты договоренности о расширении взаимодействия в авиастроении, культурной и спортивной сферах с провинцией Квебек. В декабре 2019 г. состоялся визит делегации Республики Саха (Якутия), которую возглавлял заместитель председателя правительства К.Е.Бычков. В частности, было принято решение продолжить сотрудничество по проекту возрождения поголовья бизонов на территории Якутии.

До 2014 г. российско-канадское торгово-экономическое сотрудничество развивалось поступательно. Максимальный показатель двустороннего товарооборота был зафиксирован в 2008 г. – 3,2 млрд. долл. США. По линии крупного бизнеса осуществлялись взаимовыгодные проекты в области авиастроения (в частности, между ООО «Вертолеты России» и корпорацией «Прат энд Уитни», АО «Уральский завод гражданской авиации» и фирмой «Даймонд»), а также нефтедобычи (участие «Роснефти» в разработке трудноизвлекаемых запасов нефти пласта «Кардиум» в провинции Альберта). 

После введения Оттавой в 2014 г. антироссийских санкций и принятия Россией ответных мер торгово-экономические связи серьезно сократились (товарооборот в 2016 г. составил всего 1,16 млрд. долл. США). Тем не менее, несмотря на сохраняющиеся рестрикции, двустороннее экономическое сотрудничество продолжало развиваться и в период с 2016 по 2019 гг. товарооборот вырос на 64 процента, достигнув почти 2 млрд. долл. США. При этом российский экспорт в Канаду увеличился в два раза, прежде всего за счет поставок нефти и нефтепродуктов, резинотехнических изделий, минеральных удобрений и палладия.  

Развитие торгово-экономического сотрудничества между нашими странами во многом связано с активной позицией российских и канадских  деловых кругов. РКДС и Канадская деловая ассоциации для России и Евразии (CERBA) выступают за сохранение и расширение взаимной торговли и инвестиций, настаивая на отмене санкций и барьеров, которые затрудняют реализацию бизнес-проектов в условиях, когда выход на новые рынки приобретает решающее значение, как для России, так и Канады.