In order to improve the quality of service for Russian visa applicants a Russian visa center is operating in the consular district of the Russian Embassy in Canada (web-site http://www.vfsglobal.com/russia/canada/, call centre: +1 514 841 2113, email: info.ruca@vfshelpline.com).

The objectives of the Center are: speed up and facilitate the visa procedure, create the most comfortable conditions for applicants, clarify the rules of entry and stay in the Russian Federation, check the completeness of documents that are required for obtaining a visa as well as represent the interests of applicants at the Consular Section when submitting (collecting) documents on their behalf.

The final decision to issue or refuse a Russian visa as well as the issuance of visa itself to foreign nationals outside the Russian Federation lies with the respective Russian Consular institutions.

Individual applicants have the right to apply directly to the Consular Section of the Embassy of the Russian Federation to obtain a visa by making an online prior appointment at the web-site of the Consular Section  http://ottawa.kdmid.ru/queue-en/.

In order to exclude cases of fraud with the pre-registration system, we accept documents only from those applicants whose personal data was entered into the system during the registration of the application. In case of discrepancy of the information indicated in the system with the data of the applicant whose documents are submitted to the Consular Section, those documents will not be considered. One time slot in the system provides the possibility of submitting only one set of documents to the Consular Section.


Diplomatic and official visas.


All the requests must be forwarded to the Embassy along with the verbal note of Passport Canada (Official Travel) and delivered by its courier services only. 


The documents submitted by any other way as stated above or containing visa application forms filled out improperly will be returned without processing. 


Please be advised, that if you apply for a diplomatic or official visa you must choose «Embassy of the Russian Federation in Canada» as the correct destination when filling in thevisa application form. The application form must be printed out on a single sheet of paper from both sides and have a destination name and a 12-digit number on top of it.


The Russian Federation maintains consular offices in three locations 
in Canada, with each having its own jurisdiction.

Please contact your local Russian Consulate according to your place of residence.

The Embassy of Russian Federation in Canada (Consular Division)

Address: 52, Range Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 8J5 
(Attention: Sending of your paper work to the Embassy’s Address (285 Charlotte St.) may cause an extension of terms for documents processing.) 
Telephone:  (613) 236-72-20
Fax:  (613) 238-61-58 
Open to public: Monday - Friday 9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. 
(Consulate is closed on National Holidays of the Russian Federation)
Head of the Consular Division: Nikolay N. MOSKVICHEV
Jurisdiction: Ottawa and Capital Region (area codes 613 and 819), British Columbia, Nova Scotia, Nunavut, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, Yukon and Northwest Territories.

The application can be submitted to the Consular Division of the Embassy by a prior appointment only

Consulate General of the Russian Federation in Toronto

E-mail: toronto@kdmid.ru 
Web site: 
Jurisdiction: Ontario (except Ottawa and Capital Region), Alberta, Manitoba and Saskatchewan 

Consulate General of the Russian Federation in Montreal

Address: 3655 Avenue de Musee, Montreal, Quebec H3G 2E1 
Telephone: (514) 843-5901
Fax: (514) 842-20-12 

Web site: http://montreal.mid.ru
E-mail: gcmontreal@mid.ru

E-visas for Kaliningrad region

Since July 1, 2019 citizens of foreign countries listed below, can apply via a special website of the Russian Foreign Ministry http://electronic-visa.kdmid.ru/ for single-entry business, humanitarian and tourist visas in the form of an electronic document (so-called e-visas) to visit the Kaliningrad region.

An e-visa to visit the Kaliningrad region can be obtained by citizens of the following states:

1. Andorra
2. Austria
3. Bahrain
4. Belgium
5. Bulgaria
6. China (including Taiwan)
7. Croatia
8. Cyprus
9. Czech Republiek
10. Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK)
11. Denmark
12. Estonia 
13. Finland
14. France
15. Germany
16. Greece
17. Hungary
18. Iceland
19. India
20. Indonesia
21. Iran
22. Ireland
23. Italy
24. Japan
25. Kuwait
26. Latvia
27. Liechtenstein
28. Lithuania
29. Luxembourg
30. Malaysia
31. Malta
32. Mexico
33. Monaco
34. the Netherlands
35. North Macedonia
36. Norway
37. Oman
38. Philippines
39. Poland
40. Portugal
41. Qatar
42. Romania
43. San Marino
44. Saudi Arabia
45. Serbia
46. Singapore
47. Slovakia
48. Slovenia
49. Spain
50. Sweden
51. Switzerland
52. Turkey
53. Vatican.

An e-visa is issued free of charge.

The basis for issuing an e-visa is a statement of a foreign citizen, filled out in electronic form on the Russian MFA website http://electronic-visa.kdmid.ru/ not later than 4 calendar days before the expected date of entry, with a digital photo (electronic file) attached to it. No other documents are required for obtaining an e-visa.

E-visas are issued for a period of 30 days from the date of issue and with an allowed period of stay in the Kaliningrad region up to 8 days from the date of entry.

E-visas for visiting the Kaliningrad region are valid for entry into the Russian Federation and exit from the Russian Federation only through the following State border crossing points of the Russian Federation located in the territory of the Kaliningrad region:

1. Air crossing point "Kaliningrad (Khrabrovo)";
2. Sea crossing points "Kaliningrad" (sites in the cities of Kaliningrad, Baltiysk and Svetly);
3. Automobile crossing points "Bagrationovsk", "Gusev", "Mamonovo (Gzhekhotki)", "Mamonovo (Gronovo)", "Morskoye", "Pogranichnyy", "Sovetsk", "Chernyshevskoe";
4. Railway crossing points "Mamonovo", "Sovetsk".

Foreign citizens who have received e-visas to visit the Kaliningrad region, are authorized to be and move only within the territory of the Kaliningrad region. Their entry to the rest of the territory of the Russian Federation for the purpose of a transit travel to the Kaliningrad region or exit from it, including through airports without a layover, is not possible.

Transport companies can check whether a foreign citizen has a valid e-visa on a website of the Russian Foreign Ministry https://evisacheck.kdmid.ru/. The information on the verification procedure is also available on this website in English and Russian.