Cooperation in the North

The importance of cooperation in the Arctic between Russia and Canada is poised to increase. Both countries emphasize the interest of further expanding ties in this area on bilateral basis as well as within international fora such as the Arctic Council. In 1992 the Russian-Canadian Agreement on cooperation in the Arctic and the North, in 1997 interdepartmental Memorandum of understanding concerning cooperation on Aboriginal and Northern development were signed. The cooperation in the North has become the major subject of the Governor General of Canada visit to Russia in 2003. Bilateral contacts under the program of cooperation of Siberian Federal District and the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development of Canada develop actively. In March 2004 a visit to Canada of the Committee on the Northern Territories and Indigenous Minorities of the Federation Council took place.


Regional ties are actively developing. Substantial interest to such cooperation is demonstrated by Ontario, Quebec, Manitoba, Alberta and Northwest Territories in Canada, and Moscow, St.Petersburg, Republic of Tatarstan, Republic of Bashkortostan, Republic of Sakha (Yakutia), Yamalo-Nenets and Khanti-Mansiisk Autonomous regions, Samara, Perm and Tyumen regions in Russia.


Russia-Canada Intergovernmental Economic Commission Arctic and North Working Group (ANWG): Political forum to discuss mutual cooperation and opportunities and assist in resolving problems in particular sectors.


The Northern Dimension of Canada's Foreign Policy (NDFP): Developing and expanding opportunities to work with Russia in addressing its northern challenges through strengthened bilateral activities.


The Arctic Council is a high-level intergovernmental forum that provides a mechanism to address the common concerns and challenges faced by the Arctic governments and the people of the Arctic. The Member States of the Arctic Council are Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, the Russian Federation, Sweden and the United States of America. Russia serves as Chair of the Council for 2004-2006.


Sharing best practices in governance and northern development with the Siberia Federal District of the Russian Federation: Department of Indian and Northern Affairs of Canada is leading this important initiative under the Canada-Russia Agreement on Cooperation in the Arctic and North.

Efforts to share best practices in northern development and governance are directed to the Siberian Federal District, one of seven new administrative districts created during the recent restructuring of the Russian government.

This initiative brings together a consortium of Canadian and Russian partners to develop new initiatives and integrate ongoing projects by government and non-governmental organizations, including academic institutions, to ensure that best practices reflect the diverse experiences of different levels of government, organizations and institutions.